Reading


So I think I’m carrying my reading binge a bit too far. Over the past three months, off the top of my head I believe I have finished or partially read over a dozen books. Now that I think of it, that’s like a book a week, so it’s not as if it’s an groundbreaking feat or anything like that – it’s just that I don’t think I’ve ever read so much in such a span of time in my life. What does this mean, I wonder.

Okay, that’s enough wondering. The thing about me is, I leave my books lying in piles around my room, so it’s easy to track my reading choices. I realised there were four books I’ve left lying around, partially read, for a couple of months liao:

The Daily Drucker – Peter F Drucker Started on this a while back, before Mr Drucker passed away. I have not read enough of his work and others’ work to know for myself how significant he is, but many more knowledgeable than me think of him as a sage in the management field. This particular book is organised into 366 pithy executive summaries, and I’m stuck on 7 May. I plan to start again on this one soon.

Palm-of-the-Hand Stories – Yasunari Kawabata Bought this attracted by the short-short stories. Some of them are barely 3 minutes long. I like to write, and reading some of these stories help me understand how plots can unravel in the tightest of spaces.

Developing strategic thought – Bob Garratt, ed. Was recommended this book by Weijie. Reading this book made me realise how ingrained the habit of reading a book from cover to cover is. I couldn’t just read only the chapters that sounded interesting to me; I just couldn’t.

I Am a Cat – Soseki Natsume The idea of a cat as narrator intrigued me.

Books I’ve read in the last three months include:

A right to die – Rex Stout; Homicide trinity – Rex Stout; Three for the chair – Rex Stout Am a huge fan of Rex Stout, who wrote nominally in the genre of mysteries. To me, his stories about the eccentric garrulous gourmand detective Nero Wolfe and his wisecracking worldly sidekick Archie Goodwin represent the most realised fictional world ever. I love so much to read about them and spend time in their company that I re-read his books most nights before falling asleep.

First, Break all the Rules – Marcus Buckingham; The One Thing You Need to Know – Marcus Buckingham
Thought the books made a lot of sense. Would be a good experience to interview the folks he did to gain these insights, I think.

Teacher Man – Frank McCourt Teaching always struck me as an increasingly thankless career choice in Singapore. Frank McCourt’s memoirs about his travails as a teacher were funny, heartening and inspiring. I think learning is a human instinct, and all young people want to learn, and teachers can make a big difference.

Books I’ve started in the last couple of weeks and will finish [grim, determined look on face]:

The World is Flat – Thomas Friedman My own interpretation of a flat world was from the point of view of diffusion of knowledge or innovation – generally, if you are plugged into this flat world (and one could make the argument that more than half the world’s population are not), you can now have access to new knowledge very quickly. I think from what I’ve read so far (merely 30-plus pages) Friedman’s flat world refers more to an equality in power – every individual with access to this flat world can now become a powerful individual and advance his or her interests. Not so sure I agree with that yet.

What Should I Do with My Life? – Po Bronson I am asking this question, so I wanted to to see what other folks had to say. I suppose I was looking for a short-cut, an easier way to determining and achieving my end/meaning/desire/goal, but from what I’ve read, the book essentially says: there are many ways of arriving at a satisfying, energising state that resonates with your core. And I think this is both an encouraging thing, and a letdown. The search shall go on…

Zen in the Art of Writing – Ray Bradbury I used to be a big sci-fi fan, and therefore a big Ray Bradbury fan. This book has been a really encouraging, motivating read so far.

Winning – Jack Welch A couple of speakers I heard recently mentioned this book, so I’m reading it :D

P/S. Am trying out a new “skin” for my blog :)

Author: lichone

Ethics by Enid Blyton; physique by deep-fried things. I think we all have an instinct to tell stories and to build things and relationships,

Leave a Reply

