I'm an ISTJ


So I just took a Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (aka MBTI; you can find out more about it here; it categorises you in 4 dimensions – extroversion/introversion, intuition/sensing, feeling/thinking, judging/perceiving – based on your preferences) on an Excel sheet, and it turns out I’m an ISTJ. Well, okay, it’s not quite as simple as that; the analysis broke it down this way:

Introversion – clear preference [This means I prefer to focus my attention on and get my energy from ideas and impressions rather than external items like people and things. I think that’s fairly accurate, except that I do find myself energised by the close personal relationships that can arise from deep, involved interactions with other people, like if we work on a big project together, or share life-changing experiences. Hmm…]

Sensing – moderate preference [This means I prefer to take in information directly through sensing the here-and-now, compared to information that is conceptual and more abstract in nature. Again, I think that’s fairly accurate, but it’s a preference that can change based on one’s job and training. I believe I am comfortable with both types of information, but the preference for sensing seems, intuitively, to be an accurate assessment.]

Thinking – slight preference [Ah this means I prefer to make decisions based on analysis and logic, as opposed to values and the feelings of other people. I really think I straddle both sides here, and sometimes it’s difficult to decide how to make decisions because of this.]

Judging – moderate preference [This is an interesting, more complicated one. This means I prefer to categorise or order the outside world (via the feeling/thinking function), rather than to accept and experience the outside world as it is (via the intuition/sensing function). Again, this agrees with what I think/feel about myself.]

This shall go into my profile :) And if you’re interested in taking your own MBTI through that formatted Excel sheet – I should clarify that the best way to understand your preferences and what they mean is to take an MBTI administered by someone qualified – just drop me an email; I can send the Excel sheet to you.

Author: lichone

Ethics by Enid Blyton; physique by deep-fried things. I think we all have an instinct to tell stories and to build things and relationships,

Leave a Reply

