Not so much randomness


So on Sunday, I had a bunch of colleagues (a couple of them brought significant others) at my house for mahjong. We played for entertainment more than anything else, and at the end of that, the four of us who were left went to a Thai-Chinese place at Sembawang Shopping Centre for dinner. The calamari and fish maw soup are recommended – tasty and reasonably priced.

And after everyone left, after a shower, after I changed and went to bed, I got struck by this incredible bout of fever. It was the kind in which your joints ache as if they’ve been compressed the whole day (imagine, say, your knees after you’ve been standing the entire day), you have to leave the bed occasionally because your skin feels so warm, you feel all chilled inside where no blanket can cover, you start to talk to yourself about how unbearably hot/cold it is (well, okay, maybe it’s just me) and there is nothing you can do but ride it out. Phew. Haven’t felt anything remotely similar since university days. And the thing is, I was okay the entire time preceding the fever. A colleague suggested this could have been an attack by the devil. Am not a believer, but I figure that’s as good an explanation as any.

And oh yeah, I was happily chomping dinner just now when I accidentally chewed on my tongue. And I mean really chewed on it, with the teeth doing a bit of follow-through mastication – sort of like the Federer backhand whipping through the tennis ball and ending up like he’s holding aloft a torch like the Statue of Liberty. Not fun.

Author: lichone

Ethics by Enid Blyton; physique by deep-fried things. I think we all have an instinct to tell stories and to build things and relationships,

Leave a Reply

