3 days


So it’s been 3 days since my attachment started. The two workplaces were – as expected – quite different. I’ll do some describing (I didn’t take photos because I don’t take photos). My previous workplace had cubicles, with partitions my height. So unless one really takes an interest and tiptoes, no one sees what’s going on in your cube. Some cubes face each other, so you can see the colleague in the cube opposite you, but generally not what he/she is doing on his/her computer. My new workplace has no cubicles and low partitions between work spaces, so that what one sits down at his/her computer, one can just about peek over the partition to see if one’s neighbour is around. The work spaces are also arranged so that senior people sit with their backs against the window, and if they looked up, they would see a more junior colleague (more specifically his/her back as he/she works on a computer), and if this colleague looked up, he/she would see another colleague’s back. So, in this set-up while sitting and working, you seldom see your colleague face to face, whereas in my old workplace, I saw my neighbouring colleague face to face all the time while sitting and working. (Maybe I noticed this specifically because she’s one of those colleagues I’m missing the most…)

A few other thoughts that struck me as I tried to look busy these few days:

Knowing that you have email to clear is absurdly satisfying, when compared to opening your email software and seeing nothing in your Inbox.

One of the many inconsequential (as yet) differences: My closest colleague here is a Manchester United fan.

Another difference: When this colleague briefed me, he mentioned P&L. I sure didn’t hear about P&L where I used to work.

My colleagues actively seek each other out for information and to exchange ideas. Part of this is due to need – one may need someone else’s expertise. And I sense part of it is just, that’s the way things work here. There’s more… proactive-ness… self-management.

Another thing, when there isn’t a discussion, the place seems so quiet. Guess the arrangement doesn’t exactly promote conversations, and isn’t meant to.

powered by performancing firefox

Author: lichone

Ethics by Enid Blyton; physique by deep-fried things. I think we all have an instinct to tell stories and to build things and relationships,

Leave a Reply

