Donut heaven!


I’m not a particularly big donut fan. I’ve tried some of them mini donuts, and come away distinctly unimpressed. Too oily, more dough than filling or topping.

Then just yesterday, dear old cuz insisted I try the donuts from Donut Factory (do click through – good enough to eat, their web page, though sadly lacking in function). We were at Velocity@Novena Square, and she led me to the Donut Factory outlet there. There was a long queue snaking back on itself at one end of the counter, and my cuz told me that there was another queue for those buying 3 (or was it 6) or fewer. This other queue was empty. Can you imagine – the queue for those buying 3/6 or fewer was empty… so how many were those in the snaking queue buying?

Anyway, as we entered the empty queue, and I was eyeing the coffee roasted almond one (bottom right corner here), dear old cuz told me that the double chocolate (top row, second from right here – I understand this meant a glaze of white chocolate cream atop a donut filled with dark chocolate cream) was a must-try.

Unfortunately, my Diet Deity (ha! – always wanted to type that) was looking out for me, and they’d run out of double chocolate! The new batch would take another 20 minutes, which cuz and I didn’t have. So all I had was a coffee cream-filled donut – the coffee cream had oomph, and the donut was not oily, and almost light and fluffy – topped with a layer of roasted almond slices. And that was good stuff :)

Author: lichone

Ethics by Enid Blyton; physique by deep-fried things. I think we all have an instinct to tell stories and to build things and relationships,

Leave a Reply

