Hamster voice


My family does not celebrate Christmas, and I am generally sedentary, so I spent the day at home, sleeping, eating, haphazardly surfing the Net, and, toward the end of the day, browsing through my MP3 collection.

I’ve been enamoured with the Taiwanese songwriter/composer/singer 陳綺貞 (Cheer Chen) since I was in university. Her music is folksy, her lyrics touched with whimsy and well-observed and philosophical, and her voice melodious, like a chirp (my sister calls her “hamster voice”). I was fortunate enough to catch her at a cosy concert in my school’s lecture hall, and she was spectacularly good “live”. (The person who shared the stage with her was her mentor 陳昇 (Bobby Chen) (the link is in Chinese), and to be honest he pretty much stole the show – he’s a natural performer and showman. Toward the end of the concert, a student near the front of the lecture hall stood up to leave. 陳昇 asked him where he was going, got a mumbled reply, and then said in Mandarin, “Shut the gates. Release the dogs,” essentially mock-threatening to detain the student and sic vicious Dobermans on him for leaving before the end of the concert. That brought a crowdful of laughs!)

Dug through good old YouTube for music videos of a couple of my favourites, so I could share them with you folks here, and here they are. (You can find lots more here.)

This one’s called 還是會寂寞 (I’d translate that as “Still will be lonely”):

This one’s 旅行的意義 (I’d translate that as “Why you travel”):

Author: lichone

Ethics by Enid Blyton; physique by deep-fried things. I think we all have an instinct to tell stories and to build things and relationships,

Leave a Reply

