Passing it on


I am insured by NTUC Income. Well, to be more precise, NTUC Income is one of the companies I buy insurance from. Or from which I buy insurance.

Anyway, recently the annual bill came. And there were some imprecise instructions that bothered me enough to send an email suggesting a re-phrase to the NTUC Income customer service email address cited in the bill.

I was pleasantly surprised when a customer service representative called to thank me for my feedback and to let me know that the feedback would be relayed to the relevant folks at the next meeting. She did this in a sincere way; she did not seem to be plowing through a list of people to call and thank; she sounded genuinely appreciative.

I think this is a great way to handle feedback. Phone calls are much more personal than emails, which are more likely to sound canned and template-ised.

Result: goodwill banked.

Author: lichone

Ethics by Enid Blyton; physique by deep-fried things. I think we all have an instinct to tell stories and to build things and relationships,

Leave a Reply

