More more more


Okay okay, so, I can’t stop.

天天想你 is one of those songs that, were I to hear it on the radio, I would marvel at my luck, and at how long ago I last heard it, and then I would think about getting a 張雨生 (English Wikipedia entry) CD (he sang the song), and then I’d wonder whether they still sell any. (The chap died in a car accident a while back.)

Through the magic of YouTube, I found 3 (!!) versions.

This first one is the original one. Sounds rather more dramatic than I remember it.

This second one is an amazing ‘live’ slow rock version. 天天想你 apparently happens to be 五月天‘s (Mayday) favourite song (even though lead singer 阿信 got the lyrics wrong…). In this video, at about the 4min 10sec mark, one of the band members proposes to his girlfriend! I found it touching that the band members were so obviously thrilled when she nodded and nodded and nodded :)  (Okay, so it was a tad staged…)

This third one is my favourite. 陳綺貞‘s (English Wikipedia entry) pure, effortless performance, laced with bits of improv, made for a terrific homage to a song she used to listen to on a broken Walkman and still occasionally hums.

Author: lichone

Ethics by Enid Blyton; physique by deep-fried things. I think we all have an instinct to tell stories and to build things and relationships,

Leave a Reply

