Shining eyes


I had known about Benjamin Zander since I helped a colleague to look for a motivational speaker a while back, and finding this video via metacool was a happy-ing occurrence for me.  I’m a big fan of his “one-buttock playing” (watch the video to find out what this is) and his incredible ability to get people like me, for example, to identify with classical music (really, go through the video, you’ll get it too – it’s amazing how Zander does it, explaining how Chopin composed the particular piece he’s playing, how “the job of the B is to make the C sad”).

One of the things Zander speaks about is how conducting an orchestra can have many lessons for leading an organisation.  In his words:

{Zander is walking back and forth across the front row, below the stage.  He does this a few times during this talk – it seems he feeds off the energy of being closer to the audience.} The conductor of an orchestra doesn’t make a sound.  My picture appears on the front of the CD {as he says this, Zander strikes a few exaggerated “extravagant conductor” poses; the audience laughs heartily} but the conductor doesn’t make a sound.  He depends for his power on his ability to make other people powerful… I realised my job is to awaken possibility in other people.  And of course I wanted to know if I was doing that, and you know how you find out?  You look at their eyes.  If their eyes are shining, you know you’re doing it.  {Coming to a gentleman seated near the middle of the front row, Zander pats the chap on his right shoulder and turns him around, almost ushering him to face the audience.}  You could light a village with this guy’s eyes.  {Cue more hearty laughter from the audience.}

P/S.  Oh, and I got some feedback about the previous new look being a bit unfriendly for longer posts, so I’m trying out this newer look.  Am going for cleanness and better readability.  I would appreciate very much your views :)

Author: lichone

Ethics by Enid Blyton; physique by deep-fried things. I think we all have an instinct to tell stories and to build things and relationships,

Leave a Reply

