Learnt a couple of things today


So what happened was this: I went to my boss to pitch an idea.  The idea was basically to work with a job portal to publicise something.  This was something my colleague – who is now the proud mother of a baby girl widely acclaimed as the ultimate in cute – was taking care of and had spoken about in front of my boss.

Surprise 1: My boss was hearing about the details of the idea for the first time. Lesson: I think checking with my colleague about how deeply my boss knew about the idea would have helped me prepare to pitch it better.  As it was, I just assumed she knew at least a bit about it and did not prepare as complete a brief as I could have.

Surprise 2: My boss thought it was weird to publicise something on a job portal, though she was open to the idea.  As this was something that we wanted job-seekers to see, my colleague and I had thought that advertising on a job portal would be a great way to reach our target audience.  Lesson: The decision-maker’s experiences matter.  My boss is not a user of job portals or similar web sites, and so was understandably not immediately enamoured with the idea of publicising something on one.

Maybe the final lesson is just that the bear needs to prepare more thoroughly…

Author: lichone

Ethics by Enid Blyton; physique by deep-fried things. I think we all have an instinct to tell stories and to build things and relationships,

Leave a Reply

