Discoveries


Recently, I discovered that wedding couples have the same glassy-eyed look at their wedding dinner.  You know, it’s been a long, hectic day, and they’re trying to take it all in because it’s so meaningful, but the day’s become a pageant of things done for tradition and there are appearances to keep up, especially at dinner, where strange relatives and old classmates appear together, groups of people who had nothing to do with each other, all gathering for the same important, happy event, and it is for you that they’ve all turned up, and there are speeches to be made and toasts to be drunk and drunk and drunk.  It’s a hectic whirl, and glassy eyes, from the couple of weddings I went to in the last few months, are the norm for wedding couples.

Also, I discovered that I can’t deal with salty toothpaste.  Colgate has this new ‘mineral salt’ formula I think, and the first time I used it to brush my teeth I was still barely awake, and my instinct was to swallow the damn concoction because it tasted savoury.  It’s a conditioning, part of my upbringing – eating savoury stuff was a satisfying experience, almost all of the time.  And I realised that the day they make deep-fried stuff-flavoured toothpaste is the day I die of toothpaste poisoning.

Another discovery, or re-discovery, because I continue to be surprised by it: MRTs are so much less crowded during year-end school holidays.  It’s stunning.  Wonder of wonders, I actually got a seat the other day, a really comfortable bit of space.  I could put my bag on my lap and open it up and take a book out and read it with my bag on my lap and everything.  That was the most pleasant MRT ride I’ve had in months.

Also not long ago, I discovered Kij Johnson, who’s rekindled my enjoyment of science fiction and whose kooky titles just make reading her that bit more fun.  I know so many of us read genres and you may not read sci-fi, but just try her out.  Read “26 Monkeys, Also The Abyss” here (you’ll see that the story’s won many awards and you’ll see a link to a cool reading of the story).  Then read “The evolution of trickster stories among the dogs of North Park after the Change” here (you’ll see it has nothing to do with evolution and all to do with an utterly superb re-imagining of the beginnings of a creation myth).  And then read some more :)

And just at the end of last month, I discovered “Skinny Pizza”.  Read a review here, and others here and here.  I have eaten at Skinny Pizza twice, both times at the Wheelock Place outlet.  Skinny Pizza’s gimmick is of course the skinniness of its pizza – basically, it’s to normal pizza what tissue prata is to normal prata.  Skinniness in this case made the pizza crust super-crunchy, which is both good and bad.  When I tried the curry chicken pizza, I found the gravy-laden centre portion absolutely delicious, full of the traditional Indian curry flavour, and the outer edges overly dry.  But I can live with that.  What I wouldn’t be able to live with, is if they discontinued their truffled fries.  It’s too bad that they are ordinary shoestring fries – if a higher grade of cut potato was used, they would be matchless.  As it is, they are still the most tasty fries I’ve ever had.

Author: lichone

Ethics by Enid Blyton; physique by deep-fried things. I think we all have an instinct to tell stories and to build things and relationships,

5 thoughts on “Discoveries”

  1. Wow. so many discoveries! I discovered that you blog too early in the morning too! What are you doing posting a new enty when it’s 10:30pm in the UK for me?!

    I haven’t tasted any salty toothpaste before. Most toothpastes I used sting with high minty after taste. Deep-fried toothpaste, ha ha ha:D

    I agree with your glassy-eyed wedding couples. I suppose it’s tradition. But I find traditions too cumbersome sometimes. I think it’s best to leave guests at their own device after the wedding dinner. e.g. let them boogie into the night, hang around and have further rounds of drinks at their own expense, or chat as long as they want (after all some friends and relatives might not see each other for a long time), and the couples can retire early when they want and not feel obliged to shake heads and nod and smiles to everyone on their way out!

  2. I couldn’t resist swallowing deep-fried stuff-flavoured toothpaste, I tell you.

    I agree 100% with your suggestion about leaving guests to their own devices after dinner – the traditional obligations are the worst part of weddings.

    I gave “Never Let Me Go” to a colleague as a Christmas gift :) Can’t wait till she reads it and tells me about her thoughts/feelings on the story.

  3. I have Ishiguro’s other books in the pipeline to read, ie. A pale view of the hills, when we were orphans… but never got around to reading it due to the many distractions from the library! He recently wrote a collection of short stories. His prose is subtle and unassuming, describing events of a haunting past so poignantly.

    Another writer who writes like him is Jhumpa Lahiri. Please please do pick up her book. You will love her. I know you will. She is the winner of Pulitzer Prize 2000 for “Interpreter of Maladies”, together with “Unaccustomed Earth” are collection of short stories, “The Namesake” is her one and only long novel.

    if you have been a good girl all year perhaps I can send a copy of Lahiri’s books over to you? ha ha.

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and your family. :)

  4. I have “Nocturnes”, and I remember enjoying it, but none of the stories made an impression on me.

    Thanks for recommending me another author :) I shan’t be able to look out for your books in the mail though – I am a boy – but maybe you already knew that and were just teasing :)

    (She is now on my list of next authors to try.)

    Best wishes to you and yours for a fun festive season and a terrific 2010!

  5. Yes it’s Nocturnes. I’ll give it a go and see if it sticks!

    Tells you how much I know by reading other people’s writings.. I genuinely thought you are a girl. :p

    You have a terrific 2010 too!

Leave a Reply

