stuff I bought or got and haven’t read or watched


It’s the season of gifts and excess, so I thought I’d count my blessings a little bit, just to see if it helps me ease off spending money on and otherwise collecting stuff I don’t use.  So I bought/got and haven’t read/watched

  • Lost in Translation – from what I heard, starring a brilliant Bill Murray.
  • Norwegian Wood – translated from Haruki Murakami’s Japanese original.  I’d read a Chinese translation halfway through, and I found it occasionally evocative but generally bland.  A colleague mentioned that a lousy Chinese translation was floating around, and another passed me the English one to try.
  • The Fifth Discipline (Peter Senge) – always wanted to read it.  Now it looks intimidating.  See this interesting review.
  • The Black Swan (Nassim Nicholas Taleb) – I read “Fooled by Randomness” and I found Nassim Taleb full of himself, too much so for me.  And then I came across his home page.  And my opinion of him remained, but at least now he seems a genuinely full-of-himself person.  And somehow that makes me more eager – just slightly so, but still – to read “The Black Swan”.
  • Think! (Edward de Bono) – also, according to my long-legged friend, who lent me the book, full of himself, is Mr de Bono.
  • Flow (Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi) – First heard of the man with his first name in his last name while I was studying communication in university, some of the best times of my life.  I suspect my getting the book was at least partly an attempt to retrieve those times.
  • Leaves of Grass (Walt Whitman) – I guess if I liked poetry I’d like Walt Whitman.  Or Pablo Neruda.  Or Ted Hughes.  *Sigh*
  • The Story of Edgar Sawtelle (David Wroblewski) – I do want to read this book.  But I got the hard-cover version.  And it’s thicker than my thigh.  Ok I lie.  I’ll read it soon.
  • A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius (Dave Eggers) – I like McSweeney’s, which Dave Eggers founded.  I think his talk on winning the TED prize was amazing.  I think his “What is the What” would be a good read too.  But I shall try to finish that heartbreaking work of staggering genius first.

Yes, I have too much stuff.  Time to get down to some reading.

Author: lichone

Ethics by Enid Blyton; physique by deep-fried things. I think we all have an instinct to tell stories and to build things and relationships,

2 thoughts on “stuff I bought or got and haven’t read or watched”

  1. I can not believe it!! You have my coveted To-Be-Read pile!!!
    Norwegian Wood is sitting on my pile now, let me know when you are reading it, perhaps we can read it together!

    Bought 5th discipline on 2004, didn’t get around reading it. Brought it all the way to UK on 2006, still haven’t read it from back to back. I really need a push!

    The Story of Edgar Sawtelle is in my list.

    Saw The Black Swan (Nassim Nicholas Taleb) in Waterstone, forgot to list the book in my library list or TBR list. I’ll do it now.

    if you got nothing to do this year end, would be nice to create a virtual bookshelf. I have mine on http://www.shelfari.com/jovenus13

    Happy Reading!!

  2. It’s stunning that we share this many books we want to read but haven’t! Shall take a look at Shelfari and maybe try it out.

    Heh, and if I do ever get started on Norwegian Wood, I’d love to read it with someone, virtually and social network-style. Maybe you can drop me a note too if you start reading it :)

Leave a Reply

