april fool


I read this Guardian story until the part where we learn that, in the new elections campaign based on Gordon Brown’s bully boy image, the plan is to have the British PM deck David Cameron during a televised debate and send him swiftly to hospital where the reliable and efficient healthcare system under Labour would be showcased.  That got me to think, in quick succession: the British would *not* buy this; and how did Guardian reporters find out about this?; the whole thing’s improbable; something’s wrong here… and then it struck me that it was April Fools’ Day, and I scrolled up the page and sure enough, Olaf Priol had written the piece.

In the earlier parts of the story, I had thought that the campaign idea – that some British folks would be bought over by the idea of having a bully boy PM, and that the politicians would have that notion to tap on this segment – was sad and a sign of the times.  It was only until I thought that something this big would be better hidden that I realised its improbability.

So, instinctively, not only did I not doubt the idea’s authenticity, I did not doubt the idea’s effectiveness.  And the plausibility of the joke, and the way the story ratcheted up its outrageousness factor, got me whooping audibly in delight, at about eight in the morning, while I was having breakfast at my office desk, reading the Guardian online.

P/S.  I also enjoy the Guardian’s Football Weekly podcasts.

PP/S.  I do think the fact that I thought the campaign plausible and possibly effective is quite disturbing.  For Britain or for me, I’m not so sure.

Author: lichone

Ethics by Enid Blyton; physique by deep-fried things. I think we all have an instinct to tell stories and to build things and relationships,

3 thoughts on “april fool”

  1. Gordon Brown the Bully Boy! ha ha… :D I kinda imagine DAvid Cameron more of a bully than Brown though, of the way Cameron asserts his speech, you’ll think he is about to draw a gun and start shooting!

  2. Hey, good to hear from you. Hope everything is going well.

    Do you still live in London? I wonder what the sentiments among the “common people” are, regarding the upcoming elections. Are folks crying out for a change? Or would they not mind same old same old?

  3. Yeah I still live in Reading, about 80km from London, 20 minutes by train to London.. :)

    2 days ago the poll seems to be in favour with conservatives around 42%, Labour at 35% (I think) and the Liberal Democrat surprise increase in 23%, the first 2 is an estimate, but clearly remember lib dem is 23%.

    so there is a worst possibility of a hung parliament:
    http://uk.news.yahoo.com/elections/analysis-article/post/analysis/5/what-is-a-hung-parliament.html

    The country is split among weary of Labour’s promises, wary of Conservatives, and because of the weariness and wariness mentioned, some opt for a 3rd party, Lib Dem… it would be interesting to see how it pans out, but it would affect me if there is a change of immigration policy or an effect in forex!!!

    I’m voting by post this 6 May. Commonwealth citizen staying in the UK get to vote.

    Who do you want me to vote? :)

Leave a Reply

