A couple of things about London


I was in London in June, transiting on the way to Geneva and then spending a few days there on vacation on the way back to Singapore. One conclusion: The Chinese food in London is not bad.

And since June I’ve been meaning to write about a couple of things. (Been lazy, yes.)

The first thing, and to be honest I’m not sure if this should be first or second, as I can’t remember now whether it was during the transit leg or the return leg – I think now it had to have been the transit leg, so it’s correct that this is the first thing – but anyway, the landing – on a Singapore Airlines Airbus 380 – was butter-smooth. So smooth in fact that I had thought the landing was the plane bouncing on a large air pocket.

The second thing happened on my way back to Singapore. I was at a Starbucks with as eclectic a collection of seating as I’ve ever seen outside of Ikea (maybe even including Ikea): plastic chairs like those at a tentage affair around generic oblong collapsible tables, bar stools around high counters, living room sofas and couches with small square coffee tables, armchairs. I had a good double latte, and while I savoured that, I finished Alain de Botton’s The Art of Travel. Good read.

Author: lichone

Ethics by Enid Blyton; physique by deep-fried things. I think we all have an instinct to tell stories and to build things and relationships,

Leave a Reply

