Stuff I’ve found interesting lately


It’s been a long time since I last wrote here. Gonna take a while to get the gears smooth and the voice back. Anyhow, here’s some stuff I’ve enjoyed / found interesting in the last few months.

1. Depot, a great little eatery on Federal Street in New Zealand

Image
Potato skins at Depot. Heartily crunchy.
Image
Mussels, grilled in their juice, with croutons. Too few.

2. Gone Girl, a casually callous thriller with a characters I want to see more of

3. Hi, I’m Liz – animals and corniness – deadly combo. I especially liked narwhal vs. beluga.

4. How the experience of driving has changed – when I was younger, I didn’t care so much about the mortality of others.

5. The nature of friendship, the closeness built up over time and the sloughing off of judgement and extra expectations.

6. Introducing more people to arrowhead chips :)

7. This nerdy economics comic, which I will understand in about eleventeen more weeks.

8. How easy it is to feel worthless at work, from a loss of autonomy brought about by not being familiar with a new portfolio.

9. How long it’s been since I’ve had Nestle Crunch until I had it on a recent flight, and how sweet it is now compared to the perfect bite of milk chocolate and rice crisps I remember it as.

10. How satisfying it is to read books again. For some reason, though I’ve kept on buying books, I had lost the motivation to really read. When it started, I stopped reading fiction, except for genre fiction of a certain predictability. Then, I dropped that and my most challenging reading material became non-fiction books, easier to absorb in small distanced sittings. Then I dropped even non-fiction books, and for some months relied entirely on news and other snippets pulled to my screen via RSS. My favourite explanation for this progression is that my pool of attention was being squeezed dry at work, and only replenished during the weekends. Not sure if that’s true, but the year-end spate of public holidays helped to restore some of that resource, whatever it was, and I’m very happy to be back among the book-readers.

11. The Progress Principle. And from the notes inside that book, this paper. The key insight is that progress in one’s work life is more important than many other factors used to motivate performance.

12. If you listen to podcasts and are curious, 99% Invisible has to be on your list. It’s refreshing, wonderfully produced and endlessly thought-provoking. Episode 67 – about a broken window which haunted the window-breaker for years and years – is a recent favourite.

Author: lichone

Ethics by Enid Blyton; physique by deep-fried things. I think we all have an instinct to tell stories and to build things and relationships,

5 thoughts on “Stuff I’ve found interesting lately”

  1. Don’t give up on reading. I’m reading a lot more non-fictions too. There are a lot of good ones out there I recently discovered. Few days ago, I too feel worthless at work. For me it’s : “How easy it is to feel worthless at work, when a group of people tear your work apart in a senior management meeting.” Life is such. I keep telling myself no one will make me feel worthless unless I let them!

  2. Thanks for your encouragement! I recently read The Progress Principle, and that’s typical of the non-fiction I’ve been reading – stuff about doing better at work. I also recently read An Eternity of Eagles, and that was a bit disappointing – was expecting something denser about the natural history of eagles. And I just read Gone Girl, which if you like thrillers you should definitely consider reading too :)

    I’ve been fortunate in work to have been in relatively benign environments, but I can imagine how difficult it can be to have one’s work torn apart at an important meeting. And yours is the mindset needed I think, to deal with this – taking responsibility for your self-worth! I hope things are better at work now.

  3. It’s 6 days since it happened, so the effect is waning but still raw. It’s hard to be in a benign work environment in Singapore so I count you as the blessed lot.

    I have been wanting to read Gone Girl so much. When I finished with my 20+ odd library books, I will soon read it. I was booking library loans because this year onwards, they are charging 50p for book reservation!

  4. I hope it heals soon, and in the process toughens :)
    50p per book reservation? Part of austerity? :p
    Gone Girl should definitely be on your to-read-eventually list.

  5. Definitely. The whole country is in austerity mad. I’m ok if they know what they are doing. The problem is….
    I suppose I’ll pay more to SG govt. At least they know what they are doing! Yes, I’ll definitely read Gone Girl. :)

Leave a Reply

