Congratulations? Congratulations!


Last Friday, I learnt that a colleague had adopted a child. When I next saw her, I congratulated her. That immediately felt very strange – were congratulations as suitable for an adoptive mother as a pregnant one? I brushed the strangeness aside then, but it’s continued to bob up and down in my thoughts. The adoptive mother hadn’t looked unhappy at my congratulations (and why would she?). Still the feeling of strangeness remained.

It will subside slowly, I expect. I probably felt strange because, for the first time in my life, I was congratulating an adoptive mother. And one who, I understand, had wanted a child for a while. So certainly some rejoicing was appropriate.

I had even asked for the child’s name, and it had even stuck for a moment, before quickly being smudged away from the surface of my Teflon brain. Shall ask Reb her child’s name again.

Author: lichone

Ethics by Enid Blyton; physique by deep-fried things. I think we all have an instinct to tell stories and to build things and relationships,

1 thought on “Congratulations? Congratulations!”

  1. I think it is appropriate to congratulate. Why not? If it ‘s not for the mom, it is for the child and congratulate the child finally found a home and parents who love her. I am like that these days, I can’t remember names when people mentioned it over a handshake. I have to see the name before I can remember it!

Leave a Reply

