More 琅琊榜 thoughts I had while I wasn’t blogging


Looking through my diary of sorts – I use Google Keep to log stuff from my brain – I discovered some thoughts I had about 琅琊榜 Lang Ya Bang before I watched the TV adaptation.* This was in June, about a quarter of a year after I had read the books.

  • 琅琊榜 is still in my thoughts. When I read at the end of the book that the author first thought of 景禹’s (Jingyu’s) character** and then built the book around him, I totally got it – the stuff in the book happened because of who he was.
  • And also after thinking about it some more my conclusion is that after all that buildup – the protagonist prince Jingyan finally realised his buddy Lin Shu was alive and had been by his side, maligned and distrusted by him, for more than a year about 80% into the story – the two had too few conversations, too little time with each other :(
  • It is so strange that I’m still thinking about the book. Particularly memorable moments would just pop into my mind.*** Like this morning I just suddenly thought about how Lin Shu told Jingyan that his body would never recover (little wonder, since to completely purge his body of the poison which had penetrated deep into his marrow, he had to have his skin stripped and bones ground, and after that he had a different face, and would not live past 40 at the oldest****), and how Jingyan patted his shoulder and told Lin Shu it was OK, as long as Lin Shu was there, it was OK.*****
  • I can imagine a great TV adaptation would be even more memorable****** :)

 

*I went back to insert hanyu pinyin names for the 琅琊榜 Lang Ya Bang summary in my previous post, to help folks follow along. Heh.

**Recap: Jingyu was the eldest prince, seen in the books only in flashbacks and fond memories, granted death by poisoned wine by his father the king, who wrongly thought him treasonous.

***Update: There’s slightly less of that now.

****An incomplete purge of the poison, which another character in the story chose, involved some acupuncture. That’s it. He would live a normal lifespan, but the poison would mean he would have white hair all over his body and a stiff tongue, which would prevent him from speaking properly. Why didn’t Lin Shu choose this infinitely less painful way of dealing with the poison? Because he had to avenge his family and the Lin army, and to do that he had to be a normal person.

*****It just struck me: This exchange was different in the TV series. In the TV series, the scene was condensed. Lin Shu said that he would never recover, never be able to beat Jingyan. Jingyan retorted that Lin Shu actually had the advantage – even if Lin Shu were to hit him, Jingyan would not retaliate. Lin Shu had sort of the last word: Jingyan was the Crown Prince – to hit him would be suicide. And the two of them chuckled and sighed, I’d like to think because it was like old times, the banter, and not like old times at all. In the book, the exchange was longer, more layered. There were descriptions of how Jingyan had to gulp down his excitement when Lin Shu said his name instead of “Your Highness” for the first time since he knew Lin Shu was Lin Shu, details like that, which were portrayed in a wonderfully nuanced way by the TV actors.

******So true. So true.

Author: lichone

Ethics by Enid Blyton; physique by deep-fried things. I think we all have an instinct to tell stories and to build things and relationships,

Leave a Reply

