Red bricks


I was reading a Slate article about Ursula K Le Guin on a hot and humid post-rain Sunday morning, and it brought back memories of the old National Library – this red brick building located between school (on Coleman Street) and McDonald’s (at the YMCA) – and the smell of books, specifically old paperbacks with yellowed pages. At the time I was determined to read all the Isaac Asimov the library had, and after I seemed to have accomplished this significant feat, I came across her books because of their sheer abundance. As I trace the steps that I took now in my mind, I see the library shelves, very high, and I remember hunting down mystery books too – and I kept coming across Georges Simenon, whose books for some reason I never read.

I haven’t been to the new National Library building to borrow books, but I do wish I could go back to the old red brick one, to see if the Asimov and UKL books are still where they used to be.

Author: lichone

Ethics by Enid Blyton; physique by deep-fried things. I think we all have an instinct to tell stories and to build things and relationships,

2 thoughts on “Red bricks”

  1. Yup. That red brick building near Fort Canning has been knocked down for a tunnel to ease traffic. (See this link: http://timesofmylife.wordpress.com/2007/09/11/that-red-brick-library-part-1/). The new building is along Victoria Street (can see this link: http://www.nlb.gov.sg/Corporate.portal?_nfpb=true&_pageLabel=Corporate_portal_page_aboutnlb&node=corporate%2FAbout+NLB%2FNational+Library+Building&corpCareerNLBParam=National+Library+Building) – it’s tall, energy efficient, a venue for plays as well and still fairly spanking new – but I still miss that red brick building :)

Leave a Reply

